Jun 11, 2014
FOR MORE THAN 20 YEARS, the Tenement Museum has told the stories of immigrants who lived at 97 Orchard Street. While the building closed its doors to residents in 1935, the neighborhood continued to welcome newcomers in search of opportunity. In 2017, the Museum will open a new exhibit at 103 Orchard Street, in the same landmarked building that houses the Visitor Center and Museum Shop.
Built in 1888, 103 Orchard Street was originally three separate tenements. The building became a corner unit when the north side of the block was demolished in order to create an approach to the newly-built Williamsburg Bridge. In 1913, the front side of the three buildings merged, while the back of the buildings were demolished to make space for a new bank headquarters. Over its 127 years as a residence, 103 Orchard Street housed more than 10,000 people. The new exhibit will tell three families' stories.
View the restored apartments of past residents from different time periods.
Explore the Lower East Side and the American Immigrant Experience.
Visit a costumed interpreter playing a past resident of 97 Orchard Street.
|Name of place||The Tenement Museum|
|Address||103 Orchard Street, New York, NY 10002|
|How long to get there (time)?||45 minutes|